LibGuides: Women & Gender Studies: WGST-1000 (Rahim)

Course Textbook

Gender and Women's Studies: Critical Terrain, 2nd ed. by edited by Margaret Hobbs and Carla Rice
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018
Please note that the publisher only offers a 1-user-at-a-time license for this e-book. If you are turned away, please try again later.

NEW! Resources for Research Paper on Gender, Society, and Justice

Links to a document with practical tips for your upcoming assigning (ppt & pdf formats for your convenience):

WGST Article Searching PDF copy

WGST Article Searching Powerpoint copy

Help Guides:

Art & Feminism Assignment

Tips for locating books and/or articles about your chosen artist:

if searching for your artist alone brings up too many results, add some extra keywords (using the word AND between your separate concepts):
- frida kahlo AND feminism
- frida kahlo AND feminism AND interpretation
- frida kahlo AND feminism AND criticism
  - experiment with keywords about your artist and the work you're studying: activism, colonialism, disability, racism, sexuality, feminism in art, etc.
  - when you find a resource that speaks to you, take a look at their keywords and who they cited (this will lead you to even more!)

Wangechi Mutu: I am speaking, are you listening? by Claudia Schmukli Between Afrofuturism, fantasy and postcolonialism: the most comprehensive monograph to date on the fantastical worlds of Wangechi Mutu Wangechi Mutu takes viewers on journeys of material, psychological and sociopolitical transformation; this volume explores her most recent groundbreaking work. Over the past two decades, Mutu has created chimerical constellations of powerful female characters, hybrid beings and fantastical landscapes. With a rare understanding of the need for powerful new mythologies beyond simple binaries and stereotypes, Mutu breaches common distinctions between human, animal, plant and machine. An artist who calls both Nairobi and New York City home, Mutu moves voraciously between cultural traditions to challenge colonialist, racist and sexist worldviews with her visionary projection of an alternate universe informed by Afrofuturism, posthumanism and feminism. This dazzling book accompanies a presentation of Mutu's new work on view at the Legion, along with a greater selection from her landmark oeuvre. It is the most comprehensive book on the artist to date.
Call Number: N 6537 W256 A4 2021
Publication Date: 2021
The Lemonade Reader: Beyoncé, Black Feminism and Spirituality by Kinitra D. Brooks (Editor); Kameelah L. Martin (Editor) The Lemonade Reader is an interdisciplinary collection that explores the nuances of Beyoncé's 2016 visual album, Lemonade. The essays and editorials present fresh, cutting-edge scholarship fueled by contemporary thoughts on film, material culture, religion, and black feminism. Envisioned as an educational tool to support and guide discussions of the visual album at postgraduate and undergraduate levels, The Lemonade Reader critiques Lemonade's multiple Afrodiasporic influences, visual aesthetics, narrative arc of grief and healing, and ethnomusicological reach. The essays, written by both scholars and popular bloggers, reflects a broad yet uniquely specific black feminist investigation into constructions of race, gender, spirituality, and southern identity. The Lemonade Reader gathers a newer generation of black feminist scholars to engage in intellectual discourse and confront the emotional labor around the Lemonade phenomena. It is the premiere source for examining Lemonade, a text that will continue to have a lasting impact on black women's studies and popular culture.
Call Number: Print & e-book copies
Publication Date: 2019
Desire Change: Contemporary Feminist Art in Canada by Heather Davis (Editor) In the resistance to the violence of gender-based oppression, vibrant - but often ignored - worlds have emerged, full of nuance, humour, and beauty. Correcting an absence of writing about contemporary feminist work by Canadian artists, Desire Change considers the resurgence of feminist art, thought, and practice in the past decade by examining artworks that respond to themes of diversity and desire. Essays by historians, artists, and curators present an overview of a range of artistic practices including performance, installation, video, textiles, and photography. Contributors address the desire for change through three central frames: how feminist art has significantly contributed to the complex understanding of gender as it intersects with sexuality and race; the necessary critique of patriarchy and institutions as they relate to colonization within the Canadian nation-state; and the ways in which contemporary critiques are formed and expressed. Heavily illustrated with representative works, Desire Change raises both the stakes and the concerns of contemporary feminist art, with an understanding that feminism is always and necessarily plural.
Call Number: Print & e-book copies
Publication Date: 2021
Sakahàn: International Indigenous Art by Greg A. Hill, Candice Hopkins, Christine Lalonde. Sakahàn: to light a fire / Albert Dumont -- Introduction : At the crossroads of indigeneity, globalization and contemporary art / Christine Lalonde -- On other pictures: imperialism, historical amnesia and mimesis / Candice Hopkins -- Reviewing cinema: indigenous film and video / Linda Grussani -- Native cosmototemic art / Gerald Vizenor -- The emergence of global indigenous art / Jolene Rickard -- Sámi art between the local and the global / Irene Snarby -- Aboriginalisthan in the Gallery / Annapurna Garimella -- The state of Māori art in an international context / Ngahiraka Mason -- The development of indigenous art in Taiwan / Yuh-Yao Wan -- No man's land?: coloniality of power and indigenous struggle in Latin America / Catalina Lozano -- Laughter and iconography / Abraham Cruzvillegas and Jimena Mendoza -- The view from here / Jimmy Manning -- Afterward : Looking back to Sakahàn / Greg Hill. Exhibiting artists: Vernon Ah Kee -- Maria Thereza Alves -- Pia Arke -- Arnalt Video Productions -- Shuvinai Ashoona and John Noestheden -- Sonny Assu -- Mary Anne Barkhouse -- Nanobah Becker -- Christi Belcourt -- Richard Bell -- Rebecca Belmore -- Corey Bulpitt and Larissa Healey -- Andrea Carlson -- Abraham Cruzvillegas and Jimena Mendoza -- Cup'luag (Jack Dalton) -- Suresh Kuman Dhurve -- Beau Dick -- Jimmie Durham -- En Lei -- Nicholas Galanin -- Regina José Galindo -- Billy Gauthier -- Jeffrey Gibson -- Brett Graham and Rachael Rakena -- Daniel Guzmán -- Julie Edel Hardenberg -- Marja Helander -- Inuk Silis Høegh -- Geir Tore Holm -- Robert Houle -- Terrance Houle -- Bayrol Jimenez and Rolando Martínez -- Jonathan Jones -- Brian Jungen -- Toru Kaizawa -- Sonya Kelliher-Combs -- Shigeyuki Kihara -- Walis Labai -- Omero Leyva -- César Antonio López -- Erica Lord -- Jimmy Manning -- Teresa Margolles -- Da-ka-xeen Mehner -- Danie Mellor -- Alan Michelson -- Kent Monkman -- Wangechi Mutu -- Nadia Myre -- Shelley Niro -- William Noah -- Fiona Pardington -- Michael Parekowhai -- Viggo Pedersen -- Outi Pieski -- Jamasee Padluq Pitseolak -- Tim Pitsiulak -- Edward Poitras -- Annie Pootoogook -- Itee Pootoogook -- Abel Rodriguez (Mogaje Guiju) -- Gjert Rognli --Jangarh Singh Shyam -- Mayank Kumar Shyam -- Venkat Raman Singh Shyam -- Doug Smarch -- Greg Staats -- Yuma Taru -- Jeff Thomas -- Warwick Thornton -- Jutai Toonoo -- Maika'i Tubbs -- Ingunn Utsi -- Taika Waititi -- Marie Watt -- Steven Yazzie -- Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun.
Call Number: N 6351.2 I53 H55 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Selfie Aesthetics: Seeing Trans Feminist Futures in Self-Representational Art by Nicole Erin Morse Nicole Erin Morse examines how trans women feminine artists use selfies and self-representational art to explore how selfies produce politically meaningful encounters between creators and viewers in ways that envision trans feminist futures.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2022
Iconic Works of Art by Feminists and Gender Activists by Brenda Schmahmann (Editor) In this book, contributors identify and explore a range of iconic works - "Mistress-Pieces" - that have been made by feminists and gender activists since the 1970s. The first volume for which the defining of iconic feminist art is the raison d'être, its contributors interpret a "Mistress-Piece" as a work that has proved influential in a particular context because of its distinctiveness and relevance. Reinterpreting iconic art by Alice Neel, Hannah Wilke and Ana Mendieta, the authors also offer important insights about works that may be less well known - those by Natalia LL, Tanja Ostojić, Swoon, Clara Menéres, Diane Victor, Usha Seejarim, Ilse Fusková, Phaptawan Suwannakudt and Tracey Moffatt, among others. While in some instances revealing cross influences between artists working in different frameworks, the publication simultaneously makes evident how social and political factors specific to particular countries had significant impact on the making and reception of art focused on gender. The book will be of interest to scholars working in art history, visual studies and gender studies.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2021
Inside Killjoy's Kastle: Dykey Ghosts, Feminist Monsters, and other Lesbian Hauntings by Allyson Mitchell (Editor); Cait McKinney (Editor) Hundreds of years of ridicule, persecution, erasure, misunderstanding, and institutionalization could put anyone in a bad mood. Killjoy invites you into her kastle for a queer exorcism and celebration of the past. Lesbian feminist histories can have a haunting effect on the present. This book explores the making and experience of Killjoy's Kastle, an immersive walk-through installation and performance artwork (by Allyson Mitchell and Deirdre Logue). Inspired by Evangelical Christian hell houses, the exhibition has been staged in four cities so far - Toronto, London, Los Angeles, and Philadelphia - engaging thousands in interactive encounters with the spirits that haunt feminist and queer history. Where traditional hell houses set out to scare and convert, Killjoy's Kastle cheekily aims to provoke and pervert. Inside Killjoy's Kastle extends and reflects on the theoretical and political legacies of the installation in chapters by queer and feminist scholars and in vignettes by participating artists. The many colourful photos in the book also bring the kastle to life, offering an important visual context.
Call Number: N 6545.65 I56 I57 2019
Publication Date: 2019

Help Guides

Article Databases

Gender Studies Database (GSD) This link opens in a new window Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracts covering gender-related topics. It indexes scholarly and popular publications including journals, books, conference papers and theses.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window SocINDEX is the world's most extensive and highest quality sociology research database. It provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Art Full Text is a foundational art research database providing full-text art journals and books. It covers fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, film, and architecture.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides image and full-text online access to selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE provides access to journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.

Your Librarian & Freddie

Romany Craig

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Office L1144

403-329-2246

Subjects: History, Information Literacy, Philosophy, Political Science, Religious Studies, Women's Studies

A small selection of books at YOUR Library!

Indigenous Feminist Gikendaasowin (Knowledge) by Tricia McGuire-Adams This book presents knowledge from Indigenous women who enact decolonization and wellbeing through physical activity.  In sport, physical activity, and health disciplines, there is a significant need for Indigenous women's theoretical and methodological perspectives. While much research is published from a Western perspective on Indigenous peoples' health, sport, and physical activity, less is known from Indigenous feminist and community perspectives. The chapters therefore inform the broader sociology of sport and Indigenous feminist fields on Indigenous cultural perspectives of physical activity.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020
Feminist and Queer Theory by L. Ayu Saraswati; Barbara L. Shaw As women's studies departments and programs undergo rapid transformation in higher education, there has been a burgeoning demand for instructional material that addresses feminist and queer studies at all levels in the curricula. Feminist and Queer Theory: An Intersectional and TransnationalReader reflects this vibrantly expanding field and meets the urgent need for theory courses.Feminist and Queer Theory: An Intersectional and Transnational Reader is not simply a feminist theory text that includes queer theories; rather, it theorizes at the intersection of feminist and queer theories, and by doing so, transforms and reshapes the boundaries of the fields. The book invitesstudents to think critically about the limitations of understanding feminist theory as separate, but tangentially related, to queer theory and moves them beyond transnationalism as "additive" to U.S.-centered intersectional perspectives. The book frames feminist and queer inquiry as beingarticulated through each other and within a global context. It also provide new voices - scholarly, activist, and creative--inside and outside the U.S. that are shaping the field and selections that highlight the importance of im/migration and borders as well as science, technology, and digitalcultures.
Call Number: HQ 1190 F465 2021
Publication Date: 2020
Unruly Women by Falguni A. Sheth Despite the disapproval that "visibly" Muslim women face in the West, the U.S. does not ban the hijab or niqab. Nevertheless, it does find a way to manage assertive Muslim women. How so? Subtly and without outright confrontation: through the courts, bureaucratic processes and liberal discourses. From a range of juridical decisions connected not only by a distinctly neocolonial gaze, but also through the tacit dimension of race, Muslim women-among other women of color-are reconceived as neonates who must be taught to behave: as Americans, as professional women, and as autonomous, mildly independent subjects. Focusing on the discrimination claims of Muslim women, this study examines juridical and political approaches that dismiss Muslim women and other populations of color as culturally backward, misguided in their thinking, and gratuitously nonconformist. Likewise, it analyses the experience of racial dismissal through excruciation: the phenomenon by which vulnerable populations are pressed into hopeless performances of cultural assimilation. Racial dismissal is excavated through legal opinions, court transcripts, and other encounters between Muslim women and the state. Ultimately, this work finds that the racial address of dismissal and the phenomena of excruciation have been pivotal to a liberal juridical order that otherwise claims neutrality. By concentrating on the treatment of Muslim women, this book uncovers dynamics of social and racial division which have inhabited and bolstered liberal legal neutrality from its inception. This book's framework, while focusing on Muslim women in the U.S., is a template for understanding how exclusion is juridically implemented for other racialized and marginalized populations.
Call Number: HQ 1170 S466 2022
Publication Date: 2022
Black Feminist Thought, Thirtieth Anniversary Edition by Patricia Hill Collins In the first major update to this classic book in many years, Collins traces the history and contours of Black women's ideas and actions to argue that Black feminist thought is the discourse that fosters Black women's survival, persistence, and success against the odds. Through meticulous research that synthesizes the important intellectual work done by Black women, Collins's timely update demonstrates that Black women's ideas and actions are not marginal concerns but rather are central to the future of social justice within democratic societies. The combination of the text's classic arguments and a preface and epilogue written expressly for this edition speak to people who have long been working on social justice and to a new generation of readers who are encountering the ideas and actions of Black women for the first time. For this 30th year anniversary edition, Patricia Hill Collins examines how the ideas in this classic text speak to contemporary social issues and identifies the directions needed for the future of Black feminist thought.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2022
Worlding Postcolonial Sexualities by Kanika Batra Worlding Postcolonial Sexualities demonstrates how late twentieth century postcolonial print cultures initiated a public discourse on sexual activism and contends that postcolonial feminist and queer archives offer alternative histories of sexual precarity, vulnerability, and resistance. The book's comparative focus on India, Jamaica, and South Africa extends the valences of postcolonial feminist and queer studies towards a historical examination of South-South interactions in the theory and praxis of sexual rights. Analyzing the circumstances of production and the contents of English-language and intermittently bilingual magazines and newsletters published between the late 1970s and the late 1990s, these sources offer a way to examine the convergences and divergences between postcolonial feminist, gay, and lesbian activism. It charts a set of concerns common to feminist, gay, and lesbian activist literature: retrogressive colonial-era legislation impacting the status of women and sexual minorities; a marked increase in sexual violence; piecemeal reproductive freedoms and sexual choice under neoliberalism; the emergence and management of the HIV/AIDS crisis; precariousness of lesbian and transgender concerns within feminist and LGBTQ+ movements; and Non-Governmental Organizations as major actors articulating sexual rights as human rights. This methodologically innovative work is based on archival historical research, analyses of national and international policy documents, close readings of activist publications, and conversations with activists and founding editors. This is an important intervention in the field of gender and sexuality studies and is the winner of the 2020 Feminist Futures, Subversive Histories prize in partnership with the NWSA. The book is key reading for scholars and students in gender, sexuality, comparative literature, and postcolonial studies.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2022
Selfie Aesthetics: Seeing Trans Feminist Futures in Self-representational Art by Nicole Erin Morse In Selfie Aesthetics Nicole Erin Morse examines how trans feminine artists use selfies and self-representational art to explore transition, selfhood, and relationality. Morse contends that rather than being understood as shallow emblems of a narcissistic age, selfies can produce politically meaningful encounters between creators and viewers. Through close readings of selfies and other digital artworks by trans feminist artists, Morse details a set of formal strategies they call selfie aesthetics: doubling, improvisation, seriality, and nonlinear temporality. Morse traces these strategies in the work of Zackary Drucker, Vivek Shraya, Tourmaline, Alok Vaid-Menon, Zinnia Jones, and Natalie Wynn, showing how these artists present improvisational identities and new modes of performative resistance by conveying the materialities of trans life. Morse shows how the interaction between selfie creators and viewers constructs collective modes of being and belonging in ways that envision trans feminist futures. By demonstrating the aesthetic depth and political potential of selfie creation, distribution, and reception, Morse deepens understandings of gender performativity and trans experience.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2022
Leading for Equity and Social Justice: Systemic Transformation in Canadian Education by edited by Andréanne Gélinas-Proulx and Carolyn M. Shields
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2022