Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education Research Complete
Access scholarly education research covering early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties. Includes curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Indexes journals, books and conference papers.
ERIC [via EBSCO]
Access information on education research and practice. Includes an education-specific thesaurus to aid searches.
Content: Scholarly journals, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers
Education Database [ProQuest]
Search publications that support research on the theory and practice of education. Covers the topics of primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education.
Content: Scholarly journals, dissertations
APA PsycINFO [via Ovid]
Indexes scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Content: Scholarly journals, dissertations, books, technical reports
Web of Science Core Collection
Access scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes citation mapping and citation reports.
Search can be limited to the following databases:
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities
Book Citation Index - Science
Book citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities
Current Chemical Reactions
To limit your results to one of the above citation indexes, scroll down the main search page and click on the appropriate database.
Getting the most out of your searches
provides you with tips for searching Education topics for relevant articles, using keywords, and getting help. This short guide
Use this , revised for Education researchers, to guide you step-by-step when beginning a new topic search. worksheet
Moving Beyond Keyword Searches
Access curated literature lists and summaries. Search for relevant books and articles on the Library homepage (please note some of the links within Oxford don't work - if you're having trouble locating anything, contact us for help). You can either use the search bar for topics or you can go to "Browse Subjects" on the left-hand size and choose Education.
Use what you've already got.
If you're basing your topic off a book or article you've already got or was provided by your professor, you can use this to quickly track down relevant authors and their works.
See the references/work cited at the end of a book, chapter or article. If a particular scholar keeps coming up, remember to find out what they've written since.
Citation tracing is available through most databases.
Click here for step-by-step instructions & tips.
Keywords searches in Counselling & Education can be tricky. Here's some of Paula's top tips!
counsel* (catches counseling, counselling, counselor, counsellor, etc)
Canada (use the nation name, not the nationality)
put the word AND between separate concepts
Example search string:
vocational guidance AND counsel* AND Canada
If you're having an issues with your searches, please let me know. firstname.lastname@example.org