Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Industry and Company Information
The following library databases are excellent sources for statistical, country, industry, and company information. These databases are not freely available on the Internet, so you should access them from here or from the library's
website. If you are , you will be prompted to enter your U of L username and password as you open each database. off campus
Access data related to world trade. Includes separate tables for Canadian imports and exports. Each table includes a number of variables that may be selected for output.
UN Comtrade Database
Provides access to United Nations statistics, including international economic, social, financial and development topics.
IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund)
Access international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance, including current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Access comprehensive economic, political and business analysis for over 200 countries. Country Report features monthly and quarterly in-depth political and economic analysis, short-term market reports, and detailed two-year forecasts. ViewsWire offers daily reports on economic, political and market developments. Country Profile outlines a country's economic and political status and background and is updated annually.
Access company, industry and country profiles. 50,000 companies worldwide are profiled, as well as 215 in-depth country profiles, and over 2000 industry profiles.
Penn World Tables 6.3
Search purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2007. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.
China Data Online
Access national and local statistics of China, time series data and graphs and tables on economic activities in China. Please note that the University of Lethbridge's subscription does not include the Census Data section.
Content: Statistics, sample data
International Monetary Fund
The IMF monitors economic and financial development and provides policy advice in countries worldwide. The site contains country information, including data, stats, and other IMF publications such as World Economic Outlook, Global Financial Stability Report, & Fiscal Monitor.
Organization of Economic Co-operation and Development
OECD’s provides analysis, policy advice and guidance to create better understanding of trade and investment liberalisation and how it can lead to stronger economic growth as well as to greater integration of countries into the world economy. Contains trade statistics, publications and documents, and information about countries.
Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries
OPEC offers market reports, statistical bulletins, annual reports and outlooks from member countries.
United Nations: Economic Commission for Africa
ECA's mandate is to promote the economic and social development of its member states, foster intra-regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development. Includes economic reports, news articles, speeches.
The World Bank
The World Bank provides financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Their site includes country information, data and research, and other pertinent publications.
World Trade Organization
The WTO is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. This site includes statistics, economic research & analysis, and publications of the WTO.