LibGuides: Aboriginal Health: Getting Started

Featured Resources

Author interviews from Determinants of Indigenous Peoples' Health in Canada: Beyond the Social

Global Health & Global Health Archive This link opens in a new window Produced by CABI, this database was created to ensure that key literature from all sources can be brought to the attention of those working in public health. The database covers all aspects of public health at both international and community levels, as well as a wealth of material from other biomedical and life science fields. Content: Books, Conference Proceedings, Indexes, Primary Source, Reports, Scholarly Journals
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new window The Indigenous Studies Portal (I-Portal) was launched in 2006 at the University of Saskatchewan as a tool for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community to access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world. Content: Books, Canadian, Conference Proceedings, Free Access, General/Multidisciplinary, Maps, Oral Histories/Personal Narratives, Photographs, Poems, Primary Source, Reports, Scholarly Journals, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video, Theses & Dissertations
MEDLINE [via OVID] This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is a bibliographic database of life sciences and biomedical information. It includes bibliographic information for articles from academic journals covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care. MEDLINE also covers much of the literature in biology and biochemistry, as well as fields such as molecular evolution
Native Health Database This link opens in a new window The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Indexes medical information on biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering, and much more. Developed and maintained by the United States National Library of Medicine. Includes access to the MeSH database. Content: Scholarly journals, systematic reviews, clinical studies
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Access scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes citation mapping and citation reports. Search can be limited to the following databases: Science Citation Index Expanded Social Sciences Citation Index Arts & Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities Book Citation Index - Science Book citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities Current Chemical Reactions Index Chemicus To limit your results to one of the above citation indexes, scroll down the main search page and click on the appropriate database.

Native American Ethnobotany Database A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants.

Important Considerations

"Nothing about us without us."

- Marie Battiste (in MacDonald, 2017)

Before embarking on a research project in Indigenous Studies, it is important to think about the reasons for your research and the materials you choose to use. Some questions you should ask:

Who wrote the resource you have selected? What is their worldview?
What is the purpose of the resource? Of your research?
Who benefits from this research and/or resource?
When was the resource created?
Was the resource created in consultation with Indigenous communities or individuals?
How was the information gathered? Why was it gathered?
Who owns the research and the rights to the research?