LibGuides: 4) Find Journal Articles: Database Alert Services

Keeping Track of Sources With Alert Services

Many databases offer alert services to help you keep track of current publications in your field.

In addition to the email alert services listed in this guide, some databases offer RSS-based alerts. If you need help setting up an email or RSS alert, check the database's Help page, or Ask Us for assistance.

Database Citation Alerts
Citation alert services notify you by email whenever a document has been cited in a new article.
Table of Contents Alerts
Table of Contents alert services notify you by email whenever a new issue of a particular journal is published.
Saved Search Alerts
Saved search alert services notify you whenever a new article that matches your search terms is published.

Table of Contents Alert Services by Database

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "publication alert" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "publication search" from the drop down list.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window
See the Web of Science Help page. Scroll down to the section titled How to Create a Citation Alert.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
See the Web of Science Help page. Scroll down to the section titled How to Create a Citation Alert.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "publication alert" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials [aka EBM Reviews] This link opens in a new window
See the Ovid help page. Select "Saving searches and alerts," and then "creating an auto-alert" from the drop down list.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) This link opens in a new window
See the Ovid help page. Select "Saving searches and alerts," and then "creating an auto-alert" from the drop down list.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
ERIC [via Proquest] This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "publication alert" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "publication search" from the drop down list.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Gender Studies Database (GSD) This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) This link opens in a new window
Register for a free GeoScienceWorld account to activate email alerts.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Humanities International Complete (HIC) This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Register for a free account to receive journal publication alerts.
IOPscience This link opens in a new window
Register for a free My IOP Science account to receive TOC notifications.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "publication alert" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "publication search" from the drop down list.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "publication alert" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "publication search" from the drop down list.
MEDLINE [via OVID] This link opens in a new window
See the Ovid help page. Select "Saving searches and alerts," and then "creating an auto-alert" from the drop down list.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
See Journal Email Alerts on the Oxford Journals Help page.
Education Database [via ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "publication alert" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "publication search" from the drop down list.
APA PsycARTICLES [via Ovid] This link opens in a new window
See the Ovid help page. Select "Saving searches and alerts," and then "creating an auto-alert" from the drop down list.
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
Register for a free PsychiatryOnline account to receive journal TOC alerts.
APA PsycINFO [via Ovid] This link opens in a new window
See the Ovid help page. Select "Saving searches and alerts," and then "creating an auto-alert" from the drop down list.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) This link opens in a new window
See Email alerts service on the RCS Publishing Help page.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Under "My Tools," select "My Alerts."
Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI Expanded) This link opens in a new window
See the Web of Science Help page. Scroll down to the section titled How to Create a Citation Alert.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
See Types of Alerts on the SciVerse Help page.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "publication alert" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "publication search" from the drop down list.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
See Setting up a journal alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
See the Web of Science Help page. Scroll down to the section titled How to Create a Citation Alert.

Database Citation Alert Services

Google Scholar
Google Scholar offers a free citation alert service.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
See Types of Alerts on the SciVerse Help page.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
See the Web of Science Help page for instructions.

Saved Search Alert Services by Database

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "alerts" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "alerts" from the drop down list, and scroll down to the section on search alerts.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "alerts" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "alerts" from the list.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials [aka EBM Reviews] This link opens in a new window
See the Ovid help page. Select "Saving searches and alerts," and then "creating an auto-alert" from the drop down list.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) This link opens in a new window
See the Ovid help page. Select "Saving searches and alerts," and then "creating an auto-alert" from the drop down list.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
ERIC [via Proquest] This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "publication alert" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "publication search" from the drop down list.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Gender Studies Database (GSD) This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Humanities International Complete (HIC) This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
IOPscience This link opens in a new window
Register for a free My IOP Science account to save your searches.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "publication alert" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "publication search" from the drop down list.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "publication alert" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "publication search" from the drop down list.
MEDLINE [via OVID] This link opens in a new window
See the Ovid help page. Select "Saving searches and alerts," and then "creating an auto-alert" from the drop down list.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
Education Database [via ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "publication alert" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "publication search" from the drop down list.
APA PsycARTICLES [via Ovid] This link opens in a new window
See the Ovid help page. Select "Saving searches and alerts," and then "creating an auto-alert" from the drop down list.
APA PsycINFO [via Ovid] This link opens in a new window
See the Ovid help page. Select "Saving searches and alerts," and then "creating an auto-alert" from the drop down list.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
See "Alerts" under "My Tools."
CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Register for a free account to receive search alerts.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "alerts" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "alerts" from the list.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
See Creating a search alert on the EBSCOhost Help page.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
See the ProQuest Help page and search for "alerts" in the search bar at the bottom left of the page. Select "alerts" from the list.

4) Find Journal Articles: Database Alert Services

Keeping Track of Sources With Alert Services

Table of Contents Alert Services by Database

Database Citation Alert Services

Saved Search Alert Services by Database

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library